Menu

linkedin-icon.png twitter-icon.png

10:00 AM
(9:00AM CT | 7:00 AM PT) REGISTRATION & CHECK IN
11:00 AM
(10:00AM CT | 8:00 AM PT) OPENING COMMENTS
11:15 AM
(10:15 AM CT | 8:15 AM PT) Diversity, Inclusion & Equality in IP: The Current Landscape for Women & Minorities in IP and the Way Forward

The challenges faced by women and minorities in a legal career are magnified in the Patent sector. With low numbers of female and minority in Chief IP Counsel and leadership roles, and a limited pipeline of women and minorities coming into IP – this trend is set to continue. Patent law also brings into play the cultural biases around women and minorities going into the STEM fields. What are the steps to increased diversity in Patent Law?

This Panel will explore:

  • Pre COVID-19 how much had the awareness around diversity impacted the Patent Sector?
  • What are the biggest challenges?
  • What can be done to:
    • More immediately increase diversity in patent law?
    • Create and implement longer term solutions?










12:00 PM
(11:00 AM CT | 9:00 AM PT) NETWORKING BREAK
12:15 PM
(11:15 AM CT | 9:15 AM PT) Diversity in IP—Reflecting on our journey to the present, learning for tomorrow

Panel Description to Come

Sponsored by: McNees Wallace & Nurick LLC.









01:00 PM
(12:00 PM CT | 10:00 AM PT) NETWORKING BREAK
01:15 PM
(12:15 AM CT | 10:15 AM PT) Partnering for Equity: Leveraging the In-house Law Firm Relationship to Accelerate Change and Equity.

Since intellectual property is one of the least diverse sectors of the legal profession--in an increasingly global marketplace--it's time to make a concerted effort to rectify this. In addition, we are already seeing a demographic shift as baby boomers retire and females make up 65% of in-house counsel. This provides an opportunity for law firms and in-house counsel to lead the charge through strategic alliances. For example, in-house counsel can leverage its relationships with law firms to put pressure on them to offer more diversity on the teams they retain as outside counsel. Law firms can guide and mentor junior attorneys on promotion and advocacy practices that they have used to propel their own careers.

 This panel will explore:

  • Creating alliances between in-house and outside counsel to promote change
  • Identifying the unique factors which differentiate the IP sector from other areas or the legal profession
  • Addressing the ways in which in-house counsel influence law firms to increase its efforts to recruit, develop and retain diverse talent
  • Steps law firms can take to create a culture of inclusion and set junior associates up for success






02:00 PM
(1:00 PM CT | 11:00 AM PT) NETWORKING BREAK
02:15 PM
(1:15 PM CT | 11:15 AM PT) From Recruitment to Retention: The Role of Sponsorship & Mentorship in Creating Change

To create a rewarding legal career, one must seek out challenging and visible professional opportunities: getting on the right case, satisfying the important client, winning the big settlement. For women and minorities, however, finding these opportunities often isn’t enough; effective sponsors and influencers are needed to help seize them.

Behind closed doors, who is vouching for you and pushing your name forward for the opportunities you want? What can you do to strategically foster sponsors and influencers?

This panel will explore:

  • The importance of women and minorities in law
  • Differentiating sponsors from influencers
  • Identifying current and potential sponsors
  • Redefining the “old boys network” in the legal profession












03:00 PM
(2:00 PM CT | 12:00 PM PT) NETWORKING BREAK
03:15 PM
(2:15 AM CT | 12:15 AM PT) Portfolio Management and Building an IP Strategy

Effective patent portfolio management ensures a return on investment in the long-run, and it is also key in excluding competitors from key markets. However, economic challenges continue to place pressure on IP budgets. Many patent portfolios are currently being restructured. How can patent owners prepare for heightened cost management? How will this impact IP Strategies? How will already budget conscious filings impact spending on maintenance fees? A well run portfolio gives the business the ability to protect market share, block competitors and create future opportunities.

This panel will explore:

  • What is the impact from COVID-19 on your IP portfolios and portfolio management?
  • How can patent owners effectively manage a portfolio through a recession?
  • Can patent owners effectively VALUE their IP assets?
  • What policies and resources are needed to prepare for future economic downturns and market uncertainty?
  • Is monetization of patents and technology an integral part of your IP strategy?
  • To what extent can outside counsel and IP service providers assist with cost-effectively managing IP assets, reducing administrative burdens, and improving efficiency?
  • Questions and engagement from the audience






04:00 PM
(3:00 PM CT | 1:00 PM PT) NETWORKING BREAK
04:15 PM
(3:15 PM CT | 1:15 PM PT) Ideas & Innovation on Solving the STEM Issue in IP: Keeping Women in STEM is the Underlying Challenge in Patent Law

The lack of women coming through the pipeline Women in STEM is creating a lack of diversity, when diversity can solve challenges in all areas of development.

This panel will explore:

  • Ways to increase diversity in the professional ranks
  • Real World Strategies that both corporation and firms can implement








05:00 PM
(4:00 PM CT | 2:00 PM PT) NETWORKING BREAK
05:15 PM
(4:15 PM CT | 2:15 PM PT) The Litigation Landscape Post COVID

The environment for Patent Litigation is changing. Plaintiffs are more savvy, battle tested and adept at filing patent litigation, including using international forums. Companies are increasingly filing, selling, acquiring and monetizing patents. The landscape is in flux and seems to be getting more complex. As institution rates decline, IPR use is less automatic. At the same time, NPE litigation in the U.S. is decreasing, while operating company litigation is slightly increasing.

This panel will explore:

  • Preparing for a shifting patent litigation landscape
  • Litigation avoidance through portfolio management and product development
  • Be ready for the international litigation or ITC proceedings
  • What are the top countries for litigating patent disputes? What trends can be observed in global patent litigation?
  • Is the ITC an effective forum to enforce patents?
  • Shift at the PTAB – the data is confusing










06:00 PM
(5:00 PM CT | 3:00 PM PT) NETWORKING RECEPTION & RAFFLE
06:15 PM
(5:15 PM CT | 3:15 PM PT) Prosecution: Budget, Innovation & Quality

Managing patent prosecution in today’s complex and turbulent climate requires tackling inconsistency arising from global patent offices and courts, budget pressures, and a need for higher quality patents. Some of the challenges are rooted in the dynamically changing global patent law, others are rooted in the different patent prosecution standards, and still others are impacted by the current economic and market uncertainty. How will this environment affect your patent filings, prosecution of patents and your portfolio?

This panel will explore:

  • What changes are patent owners implementing due to the pandemic?
  • How will USPTO’s initiatives impact patent filing strategies?
  • Can AI tools assist practitioners with the preparation and prosecution of patents?
  • Is filing continuations and provisional patent applications still a sound strategy?
  • Are you opting to maintain more innovations as trade secret?
  • Managing the portfolio budget and renewals – Mixed messages from management
  • International filings: What are the best strategies?